Ruffin-Johnson's Phenoms

Enter to Learn…Go Forth to Serve

Senior 2018-Class Expectations

August8

Greetings, Phenoms!

Welcome to your last year of high school. I want to know some of your expectations of me so that we can make this year your best ever.

Answer each question in its entirety. Each answer must be answered thoroughly and completely. Your responses must be at least five sentences in length.

  1. What are your expectations of me as your English teacher?
  2. What are some concepts/skills that you have never grasped and want to before you leave SEHS?
  3. What can I expect from you?
by posted under Uncategorized | 28 Comments »    
28 Comments to

“Senior 2018-Class Expectations”

  1. August 9th, 2017 at 11:59 AM       Jess Watson Says:

    1. My expectations of you as my English teacher is to teach me and prepare me for college with a positive, helpful, and understanding attitude.
    2. A few concepts/ skills that I would like to grasp before I leave SEHS are improved writing skills. I would like to learn how to write a proper essay, how to write a proper reasearch paper, and how to properly cite/ use citations.
    3. As your student, you can expect an open-minded persepective, a determined work ethic, and a friendly and positive attitude.


  2. August 9th, 2017 at 5:59 PM       Brennen Monte Says:

    1. With no expectations at all coming into the class, I hope more than anything that I can be taught in a way I can understand and challenge me without overcoming me.
    2. My grammar, certain way I spell things and overall vocabulary I would like to expand on, as I know of them, and markings also, when and when not to use most of them.
    3. A quiet student who will listen and follow instructions as long as I understand entirely what I’ll be doing, and how I can do it without overdoing it. Keeping consistent to not only my work, but my mind in learning what’s taught.


  3. August 9th, 2017 at 7:51 PM       Makyah Zeigler Says:

    1. My expectations of you as my English teacher this year is for you to help me do the absolute best that I can in English, in order for me to do great on my ACT and get into a wonderful college.
    2. A few concepts I would love to learn, or better myself in would be, writing, such as: essays, reports,etc. I feel that those are my weekest spots and I want to better myself.
    3.As your student this year, you will except nothing but one hundred percent in everything I do, hard work, open-minded perspective, determination, and always a positive attitude.


  4. August 9th, 2017 at 9:17 PM       Natalie Ikner Says:

    1: My expectations of you as my English grade 12 teacher is to give me the knowledge I need in this subject that I have not already gained previously for these last remaining months of my high school experience. I expect to have a great year, and I hope the same for you.
    2: The main thing I never fully grasped and was not shown very much at my previous school, is how to type/write in paragraph form. I understand the gist of it, but when things are supposed to be indented is something I kept messing up on.
    3: What you can expect from me, Natalie Ikner, as a student in your class is dedication to my grades and my dedication to work until what I am trying to learn is fully grasped.


  5. August 9th, 2017 at 10:02 PM       Alexis Robinson Says:

    1. My expectations of you as my English teacher is to help me in areas you see me struggling, push me to do my best and always be there when I need help.
    2. I really want to improve my writing skills. I feel like when I start writing, I tend to say the same thing over and over just in a different form.
    3. You can expect a positive attitude from me this year !


  6. August 9th, 2017 at 10:09 PM       Abriana Thomas Says:

    1. My expectations of you as my English teacher this year is for you to help me get better at paying attention while reading books. Also, to help me score a better score on the English section of my ACT. I want you to help me get better at writing essays for college.
    2. Some concept and skills I would like to improve before I leave SEHS is to get better at reading books and paying attention. Also, I would like to get better at my grammar . Then I would like to learn bigger words to expand my vocabulary.
    3. As your student, you can expect a outgoing and open-minded student. I also am a very inquisitive person. I like to understand and break things down more.


  7. August 9th, 2017 at 10:54 PM       Eric Hollenquest Says:

    1. My expectations from you as my 12th grade English teacher are to help me with my weaknesses in writing. Writing things such as essays, poems, and reports which I struggle heavily with as well as brushing up on my annotating skills. I think you will push me to do my best. I hope that you can teach me better how to read for understanding. I want to learn to express myself better. I know that is a skill I will need as an adult.
    2. I really want to significantly improve my essay and report writing skills. I want to improve my thought gathering process as I take too much time thinking about what I am going write about and never really gather enough topics. I do not have much confidence in my writing. I would really like help in writing both essays and reports.
    3. You can expect a positive outlook on not only on life but at school. You can also expect a new mentality as far as school goes as I am trying to do better to help me get scholarships and to get into a good school. I believe currently i wouldn’t be able to do well on a college paper as of now


  8. August 9th, 2017 at 11:06 PM       Jalynn Knight Says:

    1. As my teacher my expectations from you is to prepare me for the real world and also for college. I also expect you to help with challenging situations that I do not understand.
    2. Before I leave high school I would like to know more about how to write an essay/other major reports, and also learn more about how to study for test.
    3. You can expect hard work, dedication, and millions of questions. You can also expect all work turned in on time, and a positive attitude with a friendly mindset.


  9. August 9th, 2017 at 11:16 PM       Elizabeth Burkhead Says:

    1. My expectations from you, as my English teacher, are that you clearly communicate the information that you hold to be relevant for the proper education of your students. I expect that the information presented will be applicable to the student body for success in the real world. I also expect you to present this information in a manner in which students of varying learning styles can successfully receive and process the criteria. I expect that you present the criteria in a calm, caring, and enthusiastic manner. I also expect that you do your best to help prepare students for the rigorous world that awaits the 2018 class after graduation.

    2. Some of the skills and concepts that I have never grasped, and would like to before I leave SEHS are the basic parts of a sentence. I would also like to learn how to properly analyze a piece of literature and write a well thought out and cohesive essay. I would like to learn how to locate and correct common errors in an essay or short answer response. I would like to learn some tips on how to verbally present information to an audience. I would also like to learn how to improve my essays when applying for colleges.

    3. You can expect that I will put forth all of the focus and effort that I have into thoroughly completing all of my assignments. You can also expect that I will complete my assignments to the best of my ability. You can expect that I will ask you for your assistance if I am struggling to understand or complete my work. You can expect, without a doubt, that I will have a positive attitude and show you the utmost respect. You can also expect that I will be punctual in my arrival and departure of class and with the completion of my assignments.


  10. August 10th, 2017 at 12:50 AM       Xavier Rogers Says:

    1. My expectations for you as my English teacher for this school year is for you to help me better myself to write class essays in addition to helping me write college essays as well. Also to help better my ACT score in the English portion of the test.
    2. Some concepts/skills I would like to improve for myself would be the following; writing essays, reading comprehension, and understanding the use for grammar rules (ex:who vs whom).
    3. As a student in your class, you can expect a positive attitude, responsibility, and a respectful behavior. Also, you can expect a self-confident and encouraging student.


  11. August 10th, 2017 at 6:28 PM       Janiya Patterson Says:

    1.) My expectations for you as my teacher is to help better me in writting eassays, understanding grammer, and getting me past my weakest spots. I want to be able to go home and brag to my mom on how awesome my teacher is whom brought me up and prepared me for college and the real world.

    2.) A few concepts/ skills i would like to pick up on before I graduate is my writing skills, being able to comprehend and grasp on to my lesson quickly.

    3.) As a student in your class, you can expect a great attitude everyday , someone whose ready to learn, being able to interact with my classmates, and someone you can look back a couple years from now and say wow she was a great student.


  12. August 10th, 2017 at 7:53 PM       Dominique Robinson Says:

    1. I expect from you as my teacher to help me in areas that I struggle in, and prepare me for college.

    2. A concept that I hope to improve in is writing essays and research papers.

    3. You can expect that I’m open-minded and hard working.


  13. August 10th, 2017 at 8:25 PM       Emily Utter Says:

    1. As my English teacher, I expect you to challenge my mind to think more critically, and to guide me when I find myself stuck. I also expect you to help me strengthen my writing skills to prepare me for essays and reports in college.
    2. My weakest points, when it comes to English, are determining the mood and tone of pieces, and identifying certain bits of figurative language. Having never grasped these skills, it’s always been difficult for me to analyze the structure of literary works. I’d like to be able to analyze literary works better before I go to college.
    3. As your student, you can expect for me to be responsible and to always come to class prepared. I am very determined for this year to be a good one, and I’m making sure to put 110% of my effort into every assignment.


  14. August 10th, 2017 at 8:54 PM       Bailey Barfoot Says:

    1. My expectations I have for you as my English teacher this year is to correct me if I’m wrong or out of place.I also expect you to help me in areas I might need a little bit more attention at.Another thing I expect from you is to teach me new things I haven’t learned yet and to prepare me more for the ACT.The next thing I expect is to read classic novels and go into great detail about the books.Lastly I expect you to prepare me for college.
    2.Some concepts or skills I would like to learn this year is mostly grammar based.I want to learn more about commas and comma splices. I would also like to learn more about where colons and semicolons go in a sentence.Lastly I would like to learn more about the difference between tone and mood and how to identify both of them.
    3. As your English student, you can expect me to try my hardest to get an A in this class.Another thing you can expect me to do is pay attention and try to be quiet during class. The next thing you can expect me to do is be on time to your class everyday and to be a hard worker. Something else you can expect from me is to do my own work and follow the rules. Lastly, you can expect me to be a good respectable, hard-working student.


  15. August 10th, 2017 at 9:04 PM       Shyla Eiland Says:

    1. My expectations of you as my teacher are to help me in the areas that I can get better in, answer my questions, and help me improve my English ACT score. I also want help getting ready for college.
    2. I struggle with staying on topic in my essays. I would like to get better at getting my point across. Also, the English part of the ACT where you have to decide to keep a word or change it confuses me, so I would like to get better at that too.
    3. You can expect me to always want to learn. I put effort into my work.


  16. August 10th, 2017 at 9:10 PM       Kristian Shipman Says:

    1.) My expectations for you is to help me improve my weakness in areas of English and also to help me keep strengths up as well. Also, I want the class to open-mined and helpful in the future. I also expect you to help us prepare for the upcoming ACT. I another is helping us past the class with flying-colors. Prepare us for the college year we are going to experience soon

    2.) I want to grasp more of vocabulary,just learning new words. In the world you need to know how speak proper. I would also like to grasp verbs,nouns, and adj and to use them correctly. I want to improve my writing is another thing. I want to be well prepare for college essay.

    3.) As a student, you can expect me to be a hard-working student. I always turn my assignments in on-time and never late. I will try to improve my weaknesses and never give up. I always turn in work that is the best of my ability, not half done or poorly. I will also ask for assistance and participant in class.


  17. August 10th, 2017 at 9:36 PM       Destiny Griffin Says:

    1.) My expectations from you as a senior English teacher is to teach us and go over the things from Kindergarten until now that we should’ve learned in a English class and that we should already know. I except for you to help up and keep us on track but not baby us. I want to be guided in the right way so that I’ll be ready for the real world after May 21st. I except for you to make our class grow as a whole to where we can be able to help one another.
    2.) Analyzing and dialectical journals are things that I’ve learned but I could improve greatly in doing them. I never really understood the things to analyze I really only re-word the text when I try to do it. The dialectical journal that I once did I didn’t make to good of a grade on it but, I also wasn’t told what I did wrong so I would just like for the whole concept and reasoning processes to be broken down for me.
    3.) I’m not very social but i do communicate with Alexis so I might be talkative in that area but, as a student you will except me to do my work and not really bother anyone. I do ask a lot of questions because I’m a really curious person. I prefer to work alone but I’m always willing to help. Overall im a good student and you shouldn’t have any problems out of me.


  18. August 10th, 2017 at 9:36 PM       emily stanfield Says:

    1. My exception is to learn more then just my basic literature to read books that give me a lesson in life without feeling like it just another story we have to read.
    2. A few concepts and skills I would like to know how to write essays better and writing skills and more activities to remember the important events in literature.
    3. I will put forth the most effort I can. I love being in your class you make literature fun, and I will try to understand things as fast as you will like me to and the best way I can.


  19. August 10th, 2017 at 10:20 PM       Maybelin Hernandez Says:

    1. My expectations of you as my English teacher to help me study for a test and prepare me college and to help me understand some concepts and skills that I don’t know.
    2. I really want to learn how to write a proper essa, writing skills, and I want to improve my thoughts because I take too much time thinking of what I am going to write.
    3. As your student, I will listen and follow instructions. I’m a hard worker and responsible.


  20. August 10th, 2017 at 10:23 PM       Braiden Denman Says:

    1. My expectations for you as my English teacher are extremely high. I had you as my teacher Sophomore year and I learned more in your classroom than I did in all my other years of school. I expect you to prepare me for college in all aspects including academically, socially, and mentally. I also expect you to help me increase my vocabulary skills.
    2. Learning to analyze documents better and improve my writing skills are some things i would love to take part in before i leave SEHS.
    3. Some things that you can expect from me are great work ethic, being very opinionated, and always being interested/involved with the task that you give me as a student. I will give you 110%.


  21. August 10th, 2017 at 11:29 PM       Xavier Rogers Says:

    1. My expectations for you as my English teacher for this school year is for you to help me better myself to write class essays in addition to helping me write college essays as well. Also to help better my ACT score in the English portion of the test. I for one expect you as my teacher to help prepare me for the world and/or college. I expect you to want your students to challenge themselves in the in and out the classroom. Also expect to help read faster on major test that are timed.
    2. Some concepts/skills I would like to improve for myself would be the following; writing essays, reading comprehension, and understanding the use for grammar rules (ex:who vs whom). Writing essays because that concept/skill is a big part of college acceptance. Reading comprehension because you will have to have understanding of a prompt in order to answer a question or write a essay about that certain prompt. Finally grammar rules, for the simple fact being the difference between who vs whom.
    3. As a student in your class, you can expect a positive attitude, responsibility, and a respectful behavior. Also, you can expect a self-confident and encouraging student. Meaning I will believe that I will do good on anything in your class and will encourage another student simply not to give up in class. My attitude will not be negative to you and my peers nor to myself. Expect respect from me because I for one feel it’s important to respect others property or simply people period in that matter.


  22. August 11th, 2017 at 7:36 AM       Kyndal Hearn Says:

    1. My expectations for you as my English teacher is to help me grow and expand my knowledge in your class. I would like you to help me prepare for college, ACT wise and actually being in college. I expect you to help me with things I don’t grasp straight away. Also I would like to expand my vocabulary. I have heard many great things about you as a teacher and person when it comes to teaching, and I’d like to see for myself.

    2. Improving my essay writing skills would be something I’m very interested in doing before leaving SEHS. Also, I need help with analyzing and proof reading.

    3. Some things you can expect from me is to be very opinionated in class discussions. I will always be on task, and ready to do an assignment. I will always be interested in the lesson and ready to talk about any lesson.


  23. August 11th, 2017 at 7:58 AM       Ramaan Mcgee Says:

    1. My expectation of you as my English teacher is to help me learn in a fun structured environment.I also expect you to help me be prepared for some things college will throw my way.

    I’ve never grasped the concept of writing a haiku;it always stumps me.

    Lastly, you can expect me to be an attentive student that is always prepared for a new learning experience.


  24. August 11th, 2017 at 11:49 AM       Alexis Pernell Says:

    1. My expectations for you as my teacher is to guide me and help me better my ACT score and prepare me for the college.
    2. I would like to expand my writing skills and be better at comprehension and inference.
    3. You can expect me to try my hardest at everything we do.


  25. August 11th, 2017 at 9:09 PM       Shaunbriah Whitfield Says:

    1. As a English I expect you to help students grow and understand things that will get us through high school and life after that. Also, to provide creativity and honesty.
    2. I want to be able to become a better writer and also become more creative with my vocabulary.
    3. From me as a student , you can expect a hardworking person who’s always willing to learn.


  26. August 13th, 2017 at 10:55 PM       Darius Owens Says:

    1. What are your expectations of me as your English teacher?
    I expect you to help me learn and understand how to properly analyze works of literature. I expect you to be understanding of students but also discipline students who cause disruptions and make it hard for other students to learn. I expect you to help prepare me for the ACT.

    2. What are some concepts/skills that you have never grasped and want to before you leave SEHS?
    I never fully grasped the concept of analyzing certain elements of text. I am a very literal person and I would like to learn how to see things in a different light and from a different perspective.

    3. What can I expect from you?
    You can expect me to be a respectful, responsible, and resourceful student. I am generally very quiet and I stay to myself. You will not have to worry about any behavior problems from me. I am looking forward to the rest of this year.


  27. August 13th, 2017 at 11:19 PM       Logan swindle Says:

    1: My expectations from my English teacher is to provide me with the skills to help me in the real world and later on in life.
    2: Something I would be interested in learning before I leave SEHS is better understanding of grammar and spelling.
    3: You can expect a hardworking student who won’t give you trouble in your classroom.


  28. August 14th, 2017 at 1:56 AM       Dalton Lee Says:

    1. My expectations of you as my teacher are to help me understand and explore new ways of writing to add to my understanding of the English language.

    2. Writing a full length, on topic, and comprehensive essay.

    3. Some things to expect from me are hard work, full effort, and total attention. Even if I’m not great at or lacking in the field we’re working on in class.



Skip to toolbar